Saturday Afternoon Métis Tunes with Patti Kusturok
  • Saturday Afternoon Métis Tunes with Patti Kusturok

Saturday Afternoon Métis Tunes with Patti Kusturok

In cart Not available Out of stock
C$260.00

Join me for a series of six online workshops where you can learn about Métis fiddling.

  1. We will talk about what makes Métis tunes Métis, (hint…it’s not necessarily the tunes themselves) explore and listen to a selection of Métis players to see what they have in common or how they may differ.

  2. We will learn a selection of tunes by ear as well as take

Join me for a series of six online workshops where you can learn about Métis fiddling.

  1. We will talk about what makes Métis tunes Métis, (hint…it’s not necessarily the tunes themselves) explore and listen to a selection of Métis players to see what they have in common or how they may differ.

  2. We will learn a selection of tunes by ear as well as take some popular tunes that are played across different genres and see how we can give them a Métis style flair.

  3. We will delve into two popular versions of the Red River Jig, which is known as the “Métis National Anthem.” This will also give you an introduction to cross tuning.

This set of workshops is geared to intermediate players, but all levels are welcome to join, especially if you’ve always wanted to see what this genre of fiddling is about.

At the end of the series, sheet music will be provided. The sessions will be recorded and uploaded to YouTube so you can refer back or take in the class if you had to miss one.

This is the kind of music I grew up around, and have had the great opportunity to play alongside some of the greats.

The dates are as follows, and will be at 2:00pm Central Time. (Noon Pacific, 1:00 Mountain, 3:00 Eastern, and 4:00 Atlantic) Classes will be 75 minutes in length.

April 9 April 16 April 23 April 30 May 7 May 14

Read more…